New President, New Life Member and Two New Directors For LAA



The 2015 Annual General Meeting of the Light Aircraft Association saw both a bumper turn-out at Sywell on October 10th and the election of some new key Board members.



The event, which also saw almost 40 members’ aeroplanes parked on the Sywell grass, was partially driven by two excellent presentations by hybrid-electric aircraft pioneer Dr Paul Robertson and former test pilot Desmond Penrose. A brief lunchtime ‘show-and-tell’ allowed a walk-around both Robertson’s SSDR hybrid and one of the newest LAA types, Stephen Kilpin’s Colomban MC-30 Luciole, which had only completed its flight test programme the previous evening. Complementing these two 2015 types were the BE-2c and Avro 504K replicas, representing designs 100 years older!


The AGM saw the inauguration of a new LAA President, in the form of former Chairman Roger Hopkinson, who takes over the role from Sir John Allison. As a mark of respect and thanks for John’s years in office, he has been invested a life member of the Association.


Two new Board members were elected. Marcus de Ferranti brings expertise as both a qualified mechanical engineer and as a former RAF fighter ground attack pilot flying Jaguars and Harriers, then flying Hawks in an aggressor role for Royal Navy training. He currently flies a Van’s RV-8 over 100 hours each year and additionally brings regulatory and commercial skills to the Association.


Stephen Hutt has most recently made a valuable contribution to the LAA as programme co-ordinator of the FASVIG, Future Airspace Strategy VFR Implementation Group and has a professional background which includes over 30 years of working in information technology, principally with British Airways. In addition to Marcus and Stephen, LAA Chairman Brian Davies and Treasurer Winston Lee were also elected for additional three-year terms of office.



20th October 2015